

## FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

## Prescott-Russell Area Students Recognized With Bravo Breakfast Awards

**Kemptville, ON (Thursday, March 21, 2019)** – The **Catholic District School Board of Eastern Ontario** celebrated the first of four area Bravo Breakfast Awards this morning at St. Thomas Aquinas Catholic High School in Russell, recognizing students from the **Prescott-Russell area schools** with the prestigious award. One student from each elementary and secondary school is chosen to receive this award annually, which acknowledges students living out the board theme *Be Holy – Joy Springs from a Loving Heart!* This is the eleventh year the Board has hosted the celebration.

"Thank you for your acts of service – the big things you do that we have noticed and even more importantly, thank you for all of the little things you do that go unnoticed," began Director of Education John Cameron, in his address.

"Each of you has been a role model of kindness and service to others in your school, church and community. Thank you for making a difference, thank you for your loving heart, thank you for spreading joy in our schools!"

Also in attendance to bring greetings was Trustee for Prescott County and Russell County, Sue Wilson. Vice-Chair and Trustee for City of Cornwall and Glengarry County, Ron Eamer, was in attendance, as well as Trustee for Dundas County, Karen McAllister and Auxiliary Bishop Guy Desrochers, of the Diocese of Alexandria-Cornwall.

"Please know that your positive contribution enhances the lives of all with in your school and your school community," remarked Trustee Wilson. "You all have a gift that has been given to you by God; cherish this gift and allow it to guide you throughout your lifetime."

The following students were recognized at the March 21st Bravo Breakfast:

Samantha Greer, Mother Teresa Catholic School, Russell
Andy Pres, Pope John Paul II Catholic School, Hammond
Saoirse McNamara, St. Mary Catholic School, Chesterville
Ethan Sinett-Piche, St. Patrick Catholic School, Rockland
Hope Muir, St. Francis Xavier Catholic High School (Elementary), Hammond
Kaitlyn Provost, St. Francis Xavier Catholic High School (Secondary), Hammond
Keaton Kargus, St. Thomas Aquinas Catholic High School (Elementary), Russell
Patrick Daoust, St. Thomas Aquinas Catholic High School (Secondary), Russell



## News Release

The Catholic District School Board of Eastern Ontario operates 39 elementary and 10 secondary schools across eight counties. The CDSBEO offers excellence in Catholic education through provincial-leading programs to approximately 12,800 students.

-30-

**Image 1:** Prescott-Russell Bravo Breakfast Awards 2019.jpg (**left to right:** Hope Muir, Ethan Sinett-Piche, Kaitlyn Provost, Saoirse McNamara, Patrick Daoust, Samantha Greer, Keaton Kargus, Andy Pres)

**Image 2:** Prescott-Russell Bravo Breakfast Awards 2019 – 2.jpg (**left to right:** Student Trustee Michael Fenn, Vice-Chair and Trustee for City of Cornwall and Glengarry County Ron Eamer, Trustee for Dundas County Karen McAllister, Hope Muir, Ethan Sinett-Piche, Kaitlyn Provost, Saoirse McNamara, Patrick Daoust, Samantha Greer, Keaton Kargus, Andy Pres, Trustee for Prescott County and Russell County Sue Wilson, Director of Education John Cameron)

## **Media contact:**

Amber LaBerge Communications Officer 613-258-7757, ext. 3024 or 613-485-0268 amber.laberge@cdsbeo.on.ca