CATHOLIC DISTRICT SCHOOL BOARD OF EASTERN ONTARIO News Release

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Cornwall Area Students Recognized With Bravo Breakfast Awards

Cornwall, ON (Tuesday, May 14, 2019) – The **Catholic District School Board of Eastern Ontario** celebrated the final of four area Bravo Breakfast Awards on Tuesday, April 14, at Holy Trinity Catholic Secondary School. The event recognized students from the **Cornwall area schools**, including students from **Williamstown, St. Andrews West, Alexandria, and Morrisburg,** with the prestigious award. One student from each elementary and secondary school is chosen to receive this award annually, which acknowledges students living out the Board theme, *Be Holy – Joy Springs from a Loving Heart!* This is the eleventh year the Board has hosted the celebration.

Todd Lalonde, Board Chair and Trustee for the City of Cornwall and Glengarry County, was in attendance, along with Ron Eamer, Vice-Chair and Trustee for the City of Cornwall and Glengarry County, Karen McAllister, Trustee for Stormont County and Dundas County, and Sue Wilson, Trustee for Prescott County and Russell County. Many other local government officials, dignitaries and parish priests were also in attendance, including Auxiliary Bishop Guy Desrochers of the Diocese of Alexandria-Cornwall.

"Each year, at our Bravo Breakfasts, we have the opportunity to recognize some of our young people – to applaud their achievements, their perseverance, and their successes," noted Chair Lalonde in his address. "We acknowledge these small ways in which these students go about their school day, not seeking recognition for their actions, simply living out the Gospel values in our Catholic schools."

"Thank you for your acts of service – the big things you do that we have noticed and even more importantly, thank you for all of the little things you do that go unnoticed," began Director of Education John Cameron.

"Each of you has been a role model of kindness and service to others in your school, church and community. Thank you for making a difference, thank you for your loving heart, thank you for spreading joy in our schools!"

The following students were recognized at the May 14th Bravo Breakfast:

Kyrie Dickenson-MacDermid, Bishop Macdonell Catholic School, Cornwall Matthew Hagen, Iona Academy Catholic School, Williamstown Chelsea Looyen, Our Lady of Good Counsel Catholic School, Ingleside Findley Abraham, Sacred Heart Catholic School, Cornwall Emma Theriault, St. Andrew's Catholic School, St. Andrews West Sarah Delves, St. Anne Catholic School, Cornwall Alyssa Benedict, St. Finnan's Catholic School, Alexandria

CATHOLIC DISTRICT SCHOOL BOARD OF EASTERN ONTARIO

News Release

Abigail Emberg, St. Jude Catholic School, Vankleek Hill Emily LePage, St. Mary-St. Cecilia Catholic School, Morrisburg Serenah Villeneuve, St. Peter Catholic School, Cornwall Braedon Van Putten, Holy Trinity Catholic Secondary School, Cornwall Jasmine Savard, Holy Trinity Catholic Secondary School, Cornwall Abigail Prieur, St. Joseph's Catholic Secondary School, Cornwall Jacob Derochie, St. Joseph's Catholic Secondary School, Cornwall Devin MacCrimmon, St. Matthew Catholic Secondary School, Cornwall Tyler Zeran, St. Matthew Catholic Secondary School, Cornwall

Congratulations to all of the 2019 award recipients.

The Catholic District School Board of Eastern Ontario operates 39 elementary and 10 secondary schools across eight counties. The CDSBEO offers excellence in Catholic education through provincial-leading programs to approximately 12,800 students.

-30-

Image: Bravo Breakfast Cornwall.jpg

Left to right back row: Ron Eamer (Vice-Chair), John Cameron (Director of Education), Auxiliary Bishop Guy Desrochers, Sarah Delves, Emily LePage, Jacob Derochie, Tyler Zeran, Jasmine Savard, Karen McAllister (Trustee), Sue Wilson (Trustee), Todd Lalonde (Chair)

Left to right second row: Chelsea Looyen, Abigail Emberg, Kyrie Dickenson-MacDermid, Alyssa Benedict, Serenah Villeneuve, Devin MacCrimmon,

Left to right front row: Braedon Van Putten, Emma Theriault, Findley Abraham, Matthew Hagen, Abigail Prieur

Media contact:

Amber LaBerge Communications Officer 613-258-7757, ext. 3024 or 613-485-0268 <u>amber.laberge@cdsbeo.on.ca</u>