Students Recognized with Bravo Breakfast Awards

The Catholic District School Board of Eastern Ontario celebrated the first of four area Bravo Breakfast Awards this morning at Hanley Hall in Smiths Falls, recognizing students from the Smiths Falls area schools with the prestigious award. One student from each elementary and secondary school is chosen to receive this award annually, which acknowledges the unsung heroes within CDSBEO Catholic schools.

Director of Education, Wm. J. Gartland, began the tradition of honouring these remarkable achievers seven years ago. “Each of the young people here has been selected by their individual school communities for their special contribution,” explained Mr. Gartland. “You have made a difference in the lives of those around you, and you have put others ahead of yourselves in many circumstances. Each of you represents what we hope all of our students aspire to do and be.”

Also in attendance were Trustees Nancy Kirby (Lanark County), and Robin Reil (City of Brockville, Town of Smiths Falls, and Leeds County).

The following students were recognized at the April 8th Bravo Breakfast:

  • Darren Cleroux, Grade 5, Holy Cross Catholic School, Kemptville
  • Cherilyn Millar, Grade 6, Holy Name of Mary Catholic School, Almonte
  • Tamara Mondesir, Grade 8, Sacred Heart of Jesus Catholic School, Lanark
  • Madison McCarthy, Grade 4, St. Edward Catholic School, Westport
  • Jordan Dicaire-Lane, Grade 8, St. Francis de Sales Catholic School, Smiths Falls
  • Cassidy Vrhovnik, Grade 3, St. Gregory Catholic School, Carleton Place
  • Aurora Jarvis, Grade 3, St. James the Greater Catholic School, Smiths Falls
  • Madison Georgeadis, Grade 6, St. John Catholic Elementary School, Perth
  • Seth Dodge, Grade 6, St. Mary Catholic School, Carleton Place
  • Mike Byrne, Grade 8, Notre Dame Catholic High School, Carleton Place
  • Rebecca Vigliotti, Grade 11, Notre Dame Catholic High School, Carleton Place
  • Jessica Wedden, Grade 7, St. John Catholic High School, Perth
  • Ryan Doyle, Grade 11, St. John Catholic High School, Perth
  • Sara Bergeron, Grade 8, St. Luke Catholic High School, Smiths Falls
  • Ty Gammon, Grade 10, St. Luke Catholic High School, Smiths Falls
  • Mark Legere, Grade 8, St. Michael Catholic High School, Kemptville
  • Domenic Astorino, Grade 9, St. Michael Catholic High School, Kemptville


Left to right front row: Jordan Dicaire-Lane, Darren Cleroux, Mark Legere, Aurora Jarvis, Cherilyn Millar, Cassidy Vrhovnik, Seth Dodge, Madison Georgeadis, Madison McCarthy
Left to right back row: Tamara Mondesir, Domenic Astorino, Ryan Doyle, Rebecca Vigliotti, Mike Byrne, Sara Bergeron, Ty Gammon

Smiths Falls Area Bravo Breakfast Awards 2015