Educating and Inspiring… heart, mind, body, and soul!

Bravo Breakfast Awards Presented to Brockville Area Schools

The Catholic District School Board of Eastern Ontario celebrated the third of four area Bravo Breakfast Awards this morning at St. Mary Catholic High School in Brockville, recognizing students from the Brockville area schools, including students from Gananoque, Prescott, Toledo and Kemptville, with the prestigious award. One student from each elementary and secondary school is chosen to receive this award annually, which acknowledges students living out the Board theme, Be Holy – Joy Springs from a Loving Heart! This is the eleventh year the Board has hosted the celebration.

City of Brockville, Town of Smiths Falls and Leeds County Trustee Robin Reil attended the event, along with Grenville County and Elizabethtown-Kitley Township Trustee Brent Laton. Many other dignitaries were also in attendance.

“Each year, at our Bravo Breakfasts, we have the opportunity to recognize some of our young people – to applaud their achievements, their perseverance, and their successes,” noted Trustee Laton in his address. “We acknowledge these small ways in which these students go about their school day, not seeking recognition for their actions, simply living out the Gospel values in our Catholic schools.”

“Thank you for your acts of service – the big things you do that we have noticed and even more importantly, thank you for all of the little things you do that go unnoticed,” began Director of Education John Cameron, in his address.

“Each of you has been a role model of kindness and service to others in your school, church and community. Thank you for making a difference, thank you for your loving heart, thank you for spreading joy in our schools!”

The following students were recognized at the April 30th event:

Anaya Crawford, Holy Cross Catholic School, Kemptville
Madison Moran, J.L. Jordan Catholic School, Brockville
Kolbee Van Hiel, St. Francis Xavier Catholic School, Brockville
Liam Heffernan, St. John Bosco Catholic School, Brockville
Kaytlen Payne, St. Joseph Catholic School, Gananoque
Rachael Schaafsma, St. Joseph Catholic School, Toledo
Skylar Billings, St. Mark Catholic School, Prescott
Vincent Norton, St. Mary Catholic High School (Elementary), Brockville
Sarah McDonald, St. Mary Catholic High School (Secondary), Brockville
Morghan McCormick, St. Michael Catholic High School (Elementary), Kemptville
Bianca Lefebvre, St. Michael Catholic High School (Secondary), Kemptville

A group of students stand with their awards.
Left to right back row: Brent Laton (Trustee), Brent Bovaird (Superintendent of School Effectiveness), Sarah McDonald, Bianca Lefebvre, Morghan McCormick, Skylar Billings, Anaya Crawford, Robin Reil (Trustee), John Cameron (Director of Education)
Left to right front row: Madison Moran, Kolbee Van Hiel, Liam Heffernan, Vincent Norton, Kaytlen Payne, Rachael Schaafsma