Educating and Inspiring… heart, mind, body, and soul!

Bravo Breakfast Awards – Smiths Falls Area Schools

The Catholic District School Board of Eastern Ontario celebrated the third of four area Bravo Breakfast Awards on Thursday, April 5, at Hanley Hall in Smiths Falls. The event recognized students from the Smiths Falls area schools, including students from Perth, Carleton Place, Westport, Almonte and Lanark, with the prestigious award. One student from each elementary and secondary school is chosen to receive this award annually, which acknowledges the unsung heroes within CDSBEO Catholic schools. This is the tenth year the Board has hosted the celebration.

“Bravo is a word that is often used when a performer or any person has done something very well. The word dates back to the 1700s in Italy, and it literally means “brave.” For me, this word is the perfect combination of what we are here to celebrate this morning,” began Director of Education John Cameron in his address.

“We are here to celebrate the great efforts of our students and also to acknowledge the courage and bravery that is a key part of stepping forward to make a difference for others. Students, you have been carefully selected because people in your school have noticed how you have made a difference in the lives of those around you.”

Trustee for Lanark County, Nancy Kirby, was also in attendance, along with many other local government officials, dignitaries and parish priests.

The following students were recognized at the April 5th Bravo Breakfast:

Marah Peters, Hanley Hall School of Alternative and Continuing Education, Smiths Falls
Jordan-Anne Rich, Holy Name of Mary Catholic School, Almonte
Wyatt Leafloor, Sacred Heart of Jesus Catholic School, Lanark
Jordon Billingham, St. Edward Catholic School, Westport
Joshua Greene, St. Francis de Sales Catholic School, Smiths Falls
Hayden Smithson, St. Gregory Catholic School, Carleton Place
Olivia Frayn, St. James the Greater Catholic School, Smiths Falls
Hope Buchanan, St. John Catholic Elementary School, Perth
Savannah Rousselle, St. Mary Catholic School, Carleton Place
Mya Fournier, Notre Dame Catholic High School (Elementary), Carleton Place
Gillian Whitlock, Notre Dame Catholic High School (Secondary), Carleton Place
Zachary Nosworthy, St. John Catholic High School (Elementary), Perth
Steven Fenn, St. John Catholic High School (Secondary), Perth
Emily McAllister, St. Luke Catholic High School (Elementary), Smiths Falls
Penny Wardle, St. Luke Catholic High School (Secondary), Smiths Falls.

Congratulations to all of the 2018 award recipients.

Group photo of students accepting awards
Left to right back row: Savannah Rousselle, Joshua Greene, Jordon Billingham, Marah Peters, Steven Fenn, Penny Wardle, Gillian Whitlock, Emily McAllister Left to right front row: Olivia Frayn, Hope Buchanan, Hayden Smithson, Wyatt Leafloor, Jordan-Anne Rich, Mya Fournier, Zachary Nosworthy

Upcoming Events

Disruption of Service

There are currently no service disruptions to report.