Educating and Inspiring… heart, mind, body, and soul!

Prescott-Russell Area Students Recognized With Bravo Breakfast Awards

The Catholic District School Board of Eastern Ontario celebrated the first of four area Bravo Breakfast Awards this morning at St. Francis Xavier Catholic High School in Hammond, recognizing students from the Prescott-Russell area schools with the prestigious award. One student from each elementary and secondary school is chosen to receive this award annually, which acknowledges the unsung heroes within CDSBEO Catholic schools. This is the tenth year the Board has hosted the celebration.

“Bravo is a word that is often used when a performer or any person has done something very well. The word dates back to the 1700s in Italy, and it literally means “brave.” For me, this word is the perfect combination of what we are here to celebrate this morning,” began Director of Education John Cameron, in his address.

“We are here to celebrate the great efforts of our students and also to acknowledge the courage and bravery that is a key part of stepping forward to make a difference for others. Students, you have been carefully selected because people in your school have noticed how you have made a difference in the lives of those around you.”

Also in attendance were Vice-Chair and Trustee for City of Cornwall and Glengarry County, Ron Eamer, and Trustee for Prescott County and Russell County, Sue Wilson.

The following students were recognized at the March 22nd Bravo Breakfast:

Alexis Parker, Mother Teresa Catholic School, Russell
Andrea Gonzalez-Torres, Pope John Paul II Catholic School, Hammond (not in attendance)
Ethan Monterroza, St. Jude Catholic School, Vankleek Hill
Jacob Guy, St. Mary Catholic School, Chesterville
Grace Pereira, St. Patrick Catholic School, Rockland
Hannah Green, St. Francis Xavier Catholic High School (Elementary), Hammond
Victoria Oldford, St. Francis Xavier Catholic High School (Secondary), Hammond
Grace Standish, St. Thomas Aquinas Catholic High School (Elementary), Russell
Owen Latimer, St. Thomas Aquinas Catholic High School (Secondary), Russell

The Catholic District School Board of Eastern Ontario operates 40 elementary and 10 secondary schools across eight counties. The CDSBEO offers excellence in Catholic education through provincial-leading programs to approximately 12,800 students.

Group photo of a charity event
Left to right back row: Sue Wilson (Trustee), Victoria Oldford, Hannah Green, Ron Eamer (Vice-Chair), Ethan Monterroza, Owen Latimer
Left to right front row: Jacob Guy, Alexis Parker, Grace Pereira, Grace Standish, John Cameron (Director of Education)