Educating and Inspiring… heart, mind, body, and soul!

Todd Lalonde Acclaimed Board Chair, Sue Wilson Elected Vice-Chair at CDSBEO Annual Meeting

Mr. Todd Lalonde, Trustee for City of Cornwall and Glengarry County, has been acclaimed to the position of Chair for the Catholic District School Board of Eastern Ontario at the Annual Board Meeting held on December 1, 2020. It will be the fifth term as Chair for Mr. Lalonde, who is entering his fifteenth year as a Catholic school board trustee.

Chair Lalonde addressed trustees, senior administration, and virtual guests, “I would like to thank my fellow trustees for their continued support, faith, and trust. I know that we have a long road ahead of us, and we will have to work hard as a team as we continue to face new and unprecedented challenges. I would like to thank Mr. Eamer for his dedication in his role as Vice-Chair over the last few years, and I would like to extend my congratulations to Trustee Wilson in her new role. We thank our administrators, teachers and support staff for all of the work that they do in our schools and our classrooms. We must continue to be united in our respective roles in education, to ensure the success of our students.”

Prescott-Russell County Trustee Sue Wilson was elected to the position of Vice-Chair during the annual meeting. Mrs. Wilson has served as CDSBEO Trustee since 1999 and has served as the Chair of the Special Education Advisory Committee since 2001.

“I am very grateful to have been elected to the position of Vice-Chair, and I thank my fellow trustees for their support. I truly look forward to taking on this new role. We share our gifts so that we can provide the tools that our students need to succeed. Our board has been recognized time and time again for our leadership, and this is due to the hard work of our staff. I would like to take this opportunity to say thank you very much for your dedication, it is beyond expectation.”

Director of Education John Cameron congratulated Mr. Lalonde and Mrs. Wilson. “Both Mr. Lalonde and Mrs. Wilson have demonstrated their commitment to Catholic education. Their leadership and guidance is pivotal to our Board’s success and we are grateful for their dedication and service.”

Director Cameron also thanked Archbishop Terrence Prendergast for being part of the mass celebration, which took place prior to the annual meeting. Archbishop Prendergast was presented with a gift of thanks and a token of appreciation for his many years of support to the Board. He will begin his retirement on December 4 and will take on a temporary role as Apostolic Administrator for the Diocese of Hearst-Moosonee. Archbishop Prendergast offered his thanks to trustees and senior administration for the work they do to preserve and protect their Catholic faith and Catholic education.

The 2018-2022 CDSBEO Board of Trustees are:

Jennifer Cooney – Trustee, Lanark County
Ron Eamer – Trustee, City of Cornwall and Glengarry County
Todd Lalonde – Trustee, City of Cornwall and Glengarry County
Brent Laton – Trustee, Grenville County and Elizabethtown-Kitley Township
Robin Reil, – Trustee, City of Brockville, Town of Smiths Falls, and Leeds County
Karen McAllister – Trustee, Dundas and Stormont Counties
Sue Wilson – Trustee, Prescott and Russell Counties
Kennah Delage – Catholic Student Trustee, 2020-2021
Julia Vo – Associate Catholic Student Trustee, 2020-2021

Disruption of Service

There are currently no service disruptions to report.