Educating and Inspiring… heart, mind, body, and soul!

Certificates of Appreciation

At the June 20 Board Meeting, the CDSBEO honoured a number of deserving individuals through the presentation of Certificates of Appreciation to acknowledge and celebrate their outstanding achievements and notable talents. The following are this year’s award recipients:

Hudson Gibbs (Iona Academy), Dolev Klein Harari (Holy Trinity CSS), and Alyssa Morena (Virtual Learning School): These three students qualified to attend the Canada-wide Science Fair held in Edmonton, in May. Hudson received the Chemistry and Innovation Award as well as a University of Alberta bursary for his project which investigated the ability of common household juices to be used as natural asphalt de-icers. Dolev received the Actuarial Foundation of Canada Award, the Statistical Society of Canada Award, and a University of Alberta bursary for his project which studied earthquake related data, algorithms, and simulation models to identify areas in Israel that are at a greater risk of significant earthquake damage. Alyssa received the Excellence Award Silver Medal, the Energy Challenge Award, and a University of Alberta bursary for her project which studied how hydrogen fuel could help the world reach net zero emissions.

Helainie Gates and Jackson Tierney (St. Andrew’s Catholic School): This past March, the Educational Computing Network of Ontario (ECNO) held it’s Cyber Champion Challenge, a digital awareness student media contest for Ontario students from kindergarten to grade 12. Students were challenged to get creative and help ECNO and Fair Chance Learning promote the importance of making safe, smart choices online. Helainie and Jackson created a video submission for the contest, with the assistance of student Nora Laforest and Principal Maylon. The submission won the best in the primary division!

A group of students posing with their certificates at the CDSBEO Board Meeting.
Chair Sue Wilson (2nd from right back row) and Director of Education Laurie Corrigan (far right) with students Alyssa Morena, Dolev Klein Harari, Hudson Gibbs, Jackson Tierney, and Helainie Gates, who received Certificates of Appreciation at the June 20 Board Meeting

Disruption of Service

There are currently no service disruptions to report.