Educating and Inspiring… heart, mind, body, and soul!

Todd Lalonde Acclaimed Board Chair, Ron Eamer Re-elected Vice-Chair at CDSBEO Inaugural Meeting

Mr. Todd Lalonde, Trustee for City of Cornwall and Glengarry County, has been acclaimed to the position of Chair for the Catholic District School Board of Eastern Ontario at the Inaugural Board Meeting held on December 4, 2018. It will be the third term as Chair for Mr. Lalonde, who is entering his thirteenth year as a Catholic school board trustee.
Chair Lalonde addressed trustees, senior administration, and guests, “First and foremost I want to thank my board of trustees for the opportunity to serve another year as Chair of the Board. I am humbled to be able to work alongside such a great group of people, as trustees and as friends. It is always such a pleasure to hear the wonderful things being said about our Board across the province – it is a sincere compliment to all of the school staff, as well as administration, for the exceptional work that they do. To executive council, we say this every day, and we hope you take it to heart – we are privileged to work with such a dynamic group of individuals.”

Chair Lalonde welcomed newly acclaimed Trustee for Lanark County, Jennifer Cooney.

“I would like to also take this opportunity to welcome Trustee Cooney. A new voice is always welcome, and we look forward to everything that you will contribute to this Board.”
City of Cornwall and Glengarry County Trustee Ron Eamer was re-elected during the annual meeting to the position of Vice-Chair of the Board. Mr. Eamer has served as CDSBEO trustee since 1981, and has served terms as both Chair and Vice-Chair.

“Everyone knows how much I appreciate the opportunity to be elected as Vice-Chair. I’ve been serving this Board for a large part of my life, and I am thankful to continue to work alongside my fellow trustees and administration as Vice-Chair. Together we are providing a caring, nurturing place, where our students come to learn and build a foundation for the rest of their lives.”
Director of Education John Cameron, congratulated Mr. Lalonde and Mr. Eamer. “Both Mr. Lalonde and Mr. Eamer have demonstrated their commitment to the Catholic education. That loyalty continues to be one of the central reasons that our Board is viewed so positively in the province, not only in the Catholic education system, but in all of Ontario.”

The Board welcomed Archbishop Brendan O’Brien of the Kingston Archdiocese, who presided at mass to begin the evening. Archbishop O’Brien offered his thanks to trustees and senior administration for the work they do to preserve and protect their Catholic faith and Catholic education.

“I am very pleased to bring greetings as you gather for this inaugural meeting. As trustees you have many responsibilities in terms of planning, policy, and implementing provincial directives, but as Catholic school trustees these duties need to be applied in ways that are consistent with the values of our Catholic faith – that is what makes our schools so distinct. Your role is not just one of vigilance, but actively promoting and providing a learning environment where young people can perform academically, as well as have experiences and opportunities in forming our Catholic faith.”

The 2018-2022 CDSBEO Board of Trustees are:

Jennifer Cooney – Trustee, Lanark County
Ron Eamer – Trustee, City of Cornwall and Glengarry County
Todd Lalonde – Trustee, City of Cornwall and Glengarry County
Brent Laton – Trustee, Grenville County and Elizabethtown-Kitley Township
Robin Reil, – Trustee, City of Brockville, Town of Smiths Falls, and Leeds County
Karen McAllister – Trustee, Dundas and Stormont Counties
Sue Wilson – Trustee, Prescott and Russell Counties
Michael Fenn – Catholic Student Trustee, 2018-2019

Disruption of Service

There are currently no service disruptions to report.